The Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is located in the Huab valley in Namibia’s Kunene region (formerly known as Damaraland).
The Twyfelfontein Country Lodge area, known as the Twyfelfontein Uibasen Conservancy, boasts various rock engravings and paintings. These are a silent testimony to the first hunter-gatherer and subsequent Khoi-San inhabitants of 6 000 years ago, who used the area as a place of worship and shaman rituals. There are 17 different sites of rock paintings, totalling 212 stone slabs.
The developers of the lodge used natural stone and thatch and chose paint hues to match that of the surrounding rocks and plains. Recently a visitor centre was erected and was also built and designed to blend into the red sandstone of the environment. Twyfelfontein welcomes as many as 40 000 visitors per year. For those puzzled by the name: a farmer that settled on the land in 1946 named it Twyfelfontein (Afrikaans for uncertain or doubtful spring) as he was unsure whether the spring called /Ui-//aes on the farm would provide enough water.